II

Space-grade solar & power

Multi-junction space solar cells come from two or three qualified suppliers; constellation demand outstrips germanium-wafer capacity.

Space-grade power begins with a wafer most investors have never priced: a dislocation-free germanium substrate, onto which a handful of fabs grow triple-junction GaInP/GaAs/Ge cells at ~30%+ efficiency. Constellations need power, power needs cells, cells need germanium, and germanium is a Chinese-controlled critical mineral. That is the chokepoint. It is narrow, physical, and — unlike launch, where SpaceX simply is the market — it is genuinely contested by a few Western names you can buy.

Who owns it

The Western cell layer is a duopoly-plus-one. In the US there are only two qualified space-grade solar cell makers: SolAero, owned by Rocket Lab (RKLB), and Spectrolab, buried inside Boeing (BA). Europe's incumbent is AZUR SPACE, a wholly-owned subsidiary of 5N Plus (FPLSF), which is also one of the few Western germanium refiners. The substrate beneath all of them traces largely to Umicore (UMICY), the dominant supplier of epi-ready germanium wafers since the 1990s. Downstream, the cells become arrays: Redwire's (RDW) roll-out solar arrays power Gateway and Axiom modules. That vertical stack — substrate to cell to array — is the entire investable surface.

What breaks it

Two constraints, one upstream and one in the fab. Upstream, China produced ~68% of the world's germanium in 2024 and, after adding it to a dual-use control list, banned exports to the US in December 2024. Wrought germanium export volumes fell ~60% and prices more than tripled from early-2024 levels at the 2024 peak. Beijing suspended that ban on November 9, 2025 — but only until November 27, 2026, and licenses are still required. So the supply line is open on a political timer, not a contract. In the fab, qualification is the moat: a space-grade cell line takes years to flight-qualify, which is why each large satellite needs 6,000–15,000 germanium wafers and constellation operators cannot simply add a fifth supplier. Demand is the other half: Chinese mega-constellations alone (GW, Qianfan, Honghu) sum to ~40,000 satellites, and AI-driven space-based data center concepts push power needs toward gigawatt scale.

What forces the reprice

Three levers. First, policy-funded reshoring is now real money, not slideware: Rocket Lab signed preliminary CHIPS Act terms for up to $23.9M plus $25.5M from New Mexico to lift compound-semiconductor output ~50%, and 5N Plus won an $18.1M Defense Production Act grant on January 30, 2026 to refine up to 20 t/yr of germanium in Utah. Second, the November 27, 2026 suspension expiry is a hard, calendared event that re-tests the entire germanium supply line. Third, margin mix: Rocket Lab explicitly attributed its Q1 2026 gross-margin beat partly to solar products, the first sign this chokepoint flows to the income statement, not just the narrative.

Be honest about size and earliness

This is a small, embedded business dressed in a large story. Space solar is a line item, not a segment, at every listed name. At Rocket Lab, solar lives inside a $136.7M Space Systems quarter and is not separately disclosed; the stock trades on Neutron and launch, not cells. At Boeing, Spectrolab is a rounding error. The only name where this chokepoint is the thesis is 5N Plus — and it is a ~$118M-quarter Canadian company trading as a thin OTC foreign-ordinary line (FPLSF) of TSX-listed 5N Plus (VNP), where space competes with pharma and feed additives for capital. Umicore's germanium substrates sit inside a battery-and-recycling conglomerate. Redwire builds arrays but buys cells, so it is exposed to the price of this chokepoint, not the moat. None of these is a pure-play in the way the headline demands. The edge here is not picking a winner; it is knowing that four listed tickers and one IPO debutant touch a supply line gated by ~2–3 fabs and one country's export desk — and that a dated political timer in late 2026 will force the market to price that gate. SpaceX (SPCX), now public after its June 12, 2026 debut, is the demand, not the bottleneck. Describe the structure; do not mistake it for a recommendation.

Who owns the choke

BAspeculative

The Boeing Company

$167.07-0.7%

Boeing subsidiary Spectrolab is one of only two US producers of space-grade multi-junction solar cells, having shipped over 4 million GaAs/Ge cells and demonstrated 5-junction cells; it powers a large installed base of satellites. The franchise is tiny relative to Boeing's overall revenue and is not separately disclosed.

Bull
If space-grade power stays a two-supplier choke, Boeing's Spectrolab is one of only two US multi-junction cell producers, having shipped over 4 million GaAs/Ge cells.
Bear
The Spectrolab franchise is tiny relative to Boeing's overall revenue and is not separately disclosed, diluting any chokepoint exposure inside the parent.

[1] [2]

FPLSFcore

5N Plus Inc.

$20.16+3.4%

5N Plus owns AZUR SPACE Solar Power (acquired 2021) and is expanding space-cell capacity ~25% in 2026 atop 35%/30% expansions in 2024/2025. On January 30, 2026 it won an $18.1M US Defense Production Act grant to expand germanium refining/recycling in St. George, Utah, targeting up to 20 metric tons/year. Q1 2026 revenue was $117.9M, up 33% YoY.

Bull
If germanium-wafer capacity outstrips demand, 5N Plus owns AZUR SPACE and is expanding space-cell capacity plus refining germanium under an $18.1M DPA grant.
Bear
Exposure is via a thin OTC line, and the space-cell franchise sits inside a broader specialty-materials business whose results swing on commodity dynamics.

[1] [2] [3]

RDWwatch

Redwire Corporation

$8.80-1.0%

Redwire is co-developing the Valkyrie Hall-effect thruster (based on NASA's H71M design) in a strategic JV with private propulsion firm Phase Four, targeting high-volume DoD smallsat supply; the company has cited up to $150M annual revenue potential, which is a market-opportunity figure rather than booked backlog. Redwire reoriented in 2025 toward defense tech via the Edge Autonomy acquisition.

Bull
If smallsat propulsion scales, Redwire's Valkyrie Hall-effect JV with Phase Four targets high-volume DoD supply, with cited up to $150M annual revenue potential.
Bear
The $150M is a market-opportunity figure, not backlog; Redwire's revenue increasingly reflects Edge Autonomy drones, a textbook space-washing dilution of the thesis.

[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6]

RKLBcore

Rocket Lab Corporation

$57.61-1.2%

Rocket Lab acquired SolAero in January 2022 for $80M; SolAero is one of only two US space-grade solar cell producers (the other is Boeing's Spectrolab). Q1 2026 revenue was $200.3M with a $2.2B backlog, and the company signed preliminary CHIPS Act terms for up to $23.9M (plus $25.5M from New Mexico) to expand compound-semiconductor output ~50%. In February 2026 it added silicon arrays targeting gigawatt-scale space data centers.

Bull
If a second reusable launcher and space-grade supply scale, Rocket Lab owns SolAero (one of two US cell makers), $2.2B backlog, Neutron, and Mynaric optics.
Bear
The reusable Neutron has not flown after a tank rupture, so much of the launch upside remains option value dependent on proving booster recovery.

[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9]

SPCXcore

SpaceX (Space Exploration Technologies Corp.)

$144.41-2.8%

SpaceX priced its IPO at $135 and debuted on Nasdaq June 12, 2026 under SPCX, closing its first session at $161.11 (up ~19%) in the largest IPO in history, making it one of the largest US public companies. Starlink, with thousands of satellites in orbit and ongoing launches, is the dominant single source of demand for space-grade solar power.

Bull
If launch stays one company's market, SpaceX flew ~50% of 2025 launches and 80%+ of mass, and Starlink is the dominant single source of solar-power demand.
Bear
The IPO floated only ~4.3% of shares, so SPCX trades on a sliver of float, and the 2025 Space segment ($4.1B) carried an operating loss.

[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8]

UMICYwatch

Umicore SA (ADR)

$5.11-0.8%

Umicore has been the recognized market leader in epi-ready, dislocation-free germanium substrates for III-V multi-junction solar cells since the mid-1990s, supplying the substrate layer beneath Western space cells, and is developing ESA-backed wafer re-use technology to cut germanium consumption. UMICY is the OTC Pink ADR of Brussels-listed Umicore SA.

Bull
If germanium-wafer capacity is the binding constraint, Umicore has led epi-ready germanium substrates since the mid-1990s and is developing wafer re-use technology.
Bear
The germanium substrate franchise sits inside a broad materials and recycling group, and exposure comes via a thin OTC Pink ADR of a Brussels-listed issuer.

[1] [2]

Catalyst calendar

  • 2026-11-27Expiry of China's suspension of germanium/gallium export ban to the UShighThe hard calendar date when Beijing's temporary export-ban suspension lapses, directly re-testing the substrate supply line for every Western space-cell maker.
  • 2026-08-045N Plus Q2 2026 resultsmediumFirst print to show whether AZUR space-cell capacity expansion and the new Utah germanium grant are flowing into Specialty Semiconductors revenue and margin.
  • 2026-08-06Rocket Lab Q2 2026 resultsmediumWatch for any quantification of SolAero solar-cell contribution and CHIPS-funded capacity ramp, after solar drove the Q1 gross-margin beat.
  • 2026-08-2340th Annual Small Satellite Conference (SmallSat), Salt Lake CitylowPrimary forum where constellation operators and cell/array suppliers signal power-system roadmaps and capacity needs that stress the germanium-cell chokepoint.

View these names in the dashboard →